During the World Poker Awards, Stephen Song, Stephen Chidwick, and Ethan Yau all took home two trophies each.

The Global Poker Index and The Hendon Mob threw a big party at PokerGO’s studio in the Aria on Saturday night, honoring the best in the poker industry over the previous 12 months with the Global Poker Awards 2023.

There were a total of twenty-seven categories to compete in. Some of them had a victor chosen for them months ago. Stephen Song went into the GPI Awards in Las Vegas as a double winner and a candidate for two more categories, having earned the requisite ranking points throughout the season to be awarded GPI Player of the Year and GPI Mid-Major Player of the Year. It came as a shock to Ethan Yau, who was nominated for three awards, when he won two of them.

Stephen Chidwick, the night’s third double winner, took pleasure in both simultaneously. As the PokerGO Tour’s overall champion, he was expected to deliver a prepared acceptance speech and return to the stage to receive the honors bestowed upon him by his peers as the game’s top threat.

This year’s Global Poker Awards event was the first time the Poker ICON honorary award was presented. After making his last professional appearance on the first episode of the new season of High Stakes Poker, Gabe Kaplan was awarded the first trophy of the year. With a special video message, Gabriel managed to put a smile on everyone’s face. I discovered that the definition of “Icon” in the dictionary is “old person.”

Among the other accolades that caught people’s attention were those given out for “Macho Man” Dan Cates’s final table at the WSOP Poker Players’ Championship being the finest final table of the year and for Angela Jordison’s breakthrough performance at the tables.

In terms of live broadcasts on the Internet, the people voted for the J4 hand between Garret Adelstein and Robbi Jade Lew and Hustler Casino Live as the greatest of the year. You have to experience the joy that the entertainment brings us.

The only thing that might have been better would have been if the EPT Barcelona had gotten more votes to win Best Event of the Year instead of the revamped WPT World Championship.

Below is the full list of awardees, with those that won appearing in boldface next to their respective categories.

Gambling legend Gabe Kaplan

Star Gold Coast, the Best Nonprofit Project

Cherish Andrews wins the Women’s GPI Player of the Year award.

Stephen Song was named the GPI Mid Major Player of the Year.

Stephen Song wins the GPI Male Player of the Year award.

Stephen Chidwick, Player of the Year on the PokerGO Tour

The Most Difficult Opponent, According to the Players:

Altman, Brian

Chidwick, Stephen

Foxen, Alex

Best FT Performance, Stephen Song:

“Jungleman” Daniel Cates won the $50,000 WSOP Poker Players’ Championship.

Main Event Winner Espen Uhlen Jrstad at the WSOP

GPI Breakthrough Player: Daniel Negreanu, WPT Premier Championship Stephen Song, Super High Roller Bowl VII

A. Jordison, Angela

Jrstad Espen Uhlen

Alexis Lococo Best Circuit Comeback: PapaMC Punnat Punsri Ethan Yau Rampage

Ivey, Phil

Mr. Alex Keating

Swift von Kriegenbergh Taylor

D. Weinman, Daniel

Among the Top Twitter Users:

Author: Phil Galfond

Jaffe, Will

Kerstetter, Jamie

Best Streamer, Marle Spragg

Lex Veldhuis “LexVeldhuis,” Benjamin “Spraggy” Spragg, Jon “apestylespoker” Van Fleet, and Kevin “kevinmartin” Martin for Best Videoblog.

Burton, Jaman

Grandoli, Mariano

Owen Brad

Content Creator on the Rise: Ethan Yau ‘Rampage’

Bode, Natalie

C. Comeskey Caitlin

Fullen, Jesse

Lexy Gavin-Mather, Prominent Businesswoman:

Beauregard, Ryan

John Effel

M. Eskandani Mori

Best Tournament Director, Tana Karn:

Campbell, Paul

Raymond Pulford

Matt Savage

Toby Stone’s Top-Rated Show:

Best Mid-Major Tour: European Poker Tour Main Event Triton Poker Coin Rivet Invitation World Series of Poker Main Event WPT World Championship, Wynn Las Vegas

Best Commentator: RUNGOOD Poker Series (RGPS), MSPT, WSOP Circuit (WSOPC), WPT Prime (WPTP).

J. Hartigan James

Kerstetter, Jamie

In the words of Jeff Platt

Nicholas Schulman

The Top Podcasts:

Podcast for Friends Only (Matt Berkey, Melissa Schubert and Landon Tice).

Hearing Poker (James Hartigan and Joe Stapleton)

Podcasts from PokerGO (Timothy Duckworth, Donnie Peters and Remko Rinkema)

Poker podcast hosted by David Lappin, Dara O’Kearney, and Barry Carter under the name “The Chip Race.”

Text: Best Media Content

Fiorvanti, Tim

Richards, Connor

Shahade, Jennifer

Award-Winning Media Productions by Robbie Strazynski, Video:

C. Comeskey Caitlin

Ingram, Joey, and Liow, Gregory. “Greg Goes All In” Best Media Content, Marle Spragg; Picture:

Abrego, Antonio

Alec Hayley Hochstetler Public Choice Award for the Rome Spenser Sembrat:

WSOP Main Event Bracelet European Poker Tour Main Event PokerGO Tour Stairway to Millions WPA Main Event

People’s Choice Award for Best Live Stream:

Casino King

Casino Hustler – Live!

Live Poker from the EPT at the Lodge

People’s Choice Award for Most Admired Individual:

DePaulo, Ryan

Mojave Felipe Ramos

Veldhuis, Lex

Best Hand (as voted on by the public): Ethan Yau “Rampage”

Salseo’s hand at Hustler Casino Live is a J-4.

Negreanu wins big in the SHR Bowl poker tournament.

PapoMC’s WSOP ME bluff

The WSOP Main Event complete house of David Diaz was busted.

© ZANTARELLI 2023. All rights reserved.
[email protected]